Citizen Scientist

After months I am trying my hand at this blog, my muse having left me (temporarily only, I can hope). Gentle reader, extend me your indulgence as you have in the past, and read this fumbling piece. My muse has not returned, but my need to say something must serve in her stead.

Polar bears on melting ice discussing how science will save them in time. The tongue in cheek humour of the image shows that science needs to act in time... and people need to act in time.
Polar bears on melting ice discussing how science will save them in time.
Image taken from Creator: Stig Kristensen | Credit: Stig Kristensen via CartoonStock – https://www.cartoonstock.com/cartoon?searchID=CS486001
Copyright: © Stig Kristensen via CartoonStock – https://ww

I have been following the news about the protests by women in Iran, after the death of Mahsa Amini. The regime’s brutal attempted suppression of the protests and the demand for justice and basic human rights by the women there, finds sporadic mentions in the news.

Speaking to Iranian students who are shocked, grieved, angry and anxious has made me realise that I have been sleep walking on this issue (and others). Many Iranians outside of Iran, are suffering watching this conflagration in their home, and feel helpless to protect their loved ones, aid the protestors, and contribute to moving their country along a direction they believe in.

The Taliban banning girls’ education in Afghanistan, and more broadly once again decimating women’s and human rights in general has been happening, The war in the Ukraine, while I continue to live my life in relative safety and freedom. As do many other terrible events that impact lives across the world.

As humans we care about these things. As individuals we often feel unable, powerless to change anything about foreign governments, authoritarian regimes, terrorists and lets face it, sometimes our own governments and institutions. Which conflicts, issues can we engage with (often living far away and no belonging to that region/group)? Where does one draw the line on the issues one can engage with?

After all, what can we possibly do that would change the Taliban’s mindset or actions? How can we dream of convincing the regime in Iran to stop this inhumane treatment of women?

More importantly, as scientists, we separate out our personal feelings on these issues, from our profession. We need to protect our emotions to function. And we see ourselves as scientists, not political activists…that job of political change/social change we leave to others while we get on with the serious business of Science.

I believe we can no longer afford to continue do so.

As scientists we serve humanity. We do not operate in a vacuum. The institutions we are part of (professional bodies, universities, companies, other…) have people from affected groups (Afghan, Iranian, and many others). The policies these institutions follow and how they treat us and our fellow humans contrbutes to what society looks like globally. One step back for a group/region is a step back for all of us.

What I am asking myself now: is it not time to be a true citizen scientist? And contribute my actions, my voice to the sort of world I want to live in?

I would love to hear from you what you think about scientists being more active and how that is feasible.

Leave a comment