Random thoughts on beauty

This post is a bit random, slightly stream of consciousness…and about beauty!

We can all define in some nebulous way the concept of beauty and what it means to each of us. Infact if you close your eyes for a second and imagine an idea/image/thought the word “beauty” brings immediately to you: that association is what you probably use unconsciously when thinking of something as beautiful.

This was triggered by a discussion on beauty and aesthetics with some friends…and I could not resist blogging about it.

To me beauty is usually associated with warmth and something that draws me in. I like warm colours, warm people, hot food and such like. Yet all else pales in comparison (of beauty) when I think of space.

Space: unimaginably vast and unmapped, cold (average temperatures are pretty low even though stars and such like are not), almsot ageless compared to us, and unconcerned with us.. I cant imagine a more indifferent, unfeeling and cruel mistress than space. Perhaps we only resist its pull because we cannot see space? Else would we not go mad in seeing it and being unable to lose our selves in that infinity?

“And I, infinitesima­l being,
drunk with the great starry
void,
likeness, image of
mystery,
I felt myself a pure part
of the abyss,
I wheeled with the stars,
my heart broke loose on the wind.”
― Pablo Neruda, 100 Love Sonnets

What calls to you in this way?

Leave a Reply

