First blog is the hardest: to blog or not to blog

Hello and thanks for looking in.

This is my first post on this blog. It comes after some cogitation and agitation… to blog or not to blog? I was pretty sceptical about social media, to me twitter, facebook and even blogging seemed more suited to teenagers obsessed with boy bands. So I could not take this media seriously or see myself using it, much less starting a dedicated personal blog!

And yet here we are, you are reading this post, and I obviously, have written it. How came this transformation in attitude?

Well, a colleague at the university, spoke about social media as a tool for academics. I was quite taken by the ideas

(- a way to communicate with a larger, global audience

– freedom to say more about research (context, why you did this piece of work…) than papers allow

– get more exposure and raise profile of one’s research

– ability to discuss other topics related to science)

he presented and so I investigated by reading the blogs of some other academics that my colleague recommended. It got me quite keen and my first blogposts were as a guest for the Optical Society of America at a conference. You can see the results of those first attempts here: http://sofmeeting.blogspot.co.uk/

I found that I enjoyed blogging a lot. So much so that it was scary as it was so addictive! I found myself thinking of what I would say in my next post more than what I would say in my paper presentation.. which is why I delayed my own blog. Was I prepared to be a slave to this new compulsion?

And so after much cogitation and agitation, I decided to conduct a scientific experiment on myself with the blog reading community as witness. I would start a blog and see if in the long run the compulsion consumes me or tapers off to a normal level comparable to other activities. I hope you will stay with me on this journey and experiment and be part of the outcomes. Meanwhile, I hope you enjoy reading the posts.

Welcome to my blog!

Arti

4 comments on “First blog is the hardest: to blog or not to blog

  1. Howdy just wanted to give you a brief heads up
    and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but
    I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same results.

  2. Nice blog, Arti! Don’t think I’ve met you personally before, I work in imaging. You’ve written on some very interesting topics here. Thanks for the read! Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

